My life as a real estate agent begins anew, next week!

As I’ve mentioned before, I have a California Real Estate Salesperson’s license but we all know Oregon doesn’t always play well with others. This is the case when it comes to reciprocal real estate licensing between Oregon and California. So, even though my California license is still shiny and only 2 years old, and it allows me to sell real estate in Nevada, I need to retake the expensive classes in Oregon, pass all the preliminary exams with a score of 75% or better, and take the State and Federal board exam all over again, and pass it with 75% or better, to get my Oregon real estate Broker’s license. Oregon doesn’t offer a salesperson’s license. Oregon is classy like that.

I paid my money, took the classes, aced the preliminary exams, paid more money, and registered to take the board exam Tuesday, next week on September 20th!

If, ahem! I mean, WHEN I pass the exam, I’ll be issued a temporary license so I can get to work selling houses to cool people, and for cool people to cool people, here in the Portland Area on Wednesday.

Have you driven around Portland’s neighborhoods lately and looked at the houses? I mean really looked at them? They’re so unique, every single one, and the neighborhoods have such individual personalities that I wonder who will pop into my life next, and where will they want to look?

I interviewed four brokerages but only one made me want to go into the brokerage and pay them an in-person visit. I’ll be paying my next principle broker a portion of my commissions, because that is the way it works. I believe I am good at what I do, so I really want to make sure I am going to get the most ‘bang for my buck.’ I pay my broker a percentage of what I earn, but what will I get for my money?

For example, what if I list a Seller’s house for sale? Does the company offer a well-established brand and do they have access to a great graphic design marketing suite to market the house? Have they worked hard to present a cohesive brand that is recognizable to the people I want to attract (buyers AND sellers)? It’s great to work for a small operation but if they don’t have the resources to best support my clients, they may be serving me just fine, but my clients, not so much.

I want a principle broker who has a life outside real estate. My job is fun. I mean, it is really super fun. And because it is so engaging, it is easy to get wrapped up in doing it 24/7 and neglecting the rest of life. I don’t want to be lorded over by someone who has no life outside real estate. My new principle broker is a jazz musician, is heavily involved in the community, and is a fellow creative. He encourages everyone to have a life outside real estate.

I want the brokerage to be nice. I want it to sing success because if it does, my clients are more likely to feel at-home knowing, and feeling, well-supported by an experienced and well-represented team. The office is in one of Lloyd Towers near Portland’s Lloyd Center Shopping Mall. The colors are understated and conservative and the atmosphere is clean. My clients will love the office though, in truth, they will probably rarely come in.

I want a managing, or principle, broker who will give me the freedom to practice real estate for this generation. And the new guy is all about that. I do not want someone who will tell me every phone call is not a success unless I got ‘the appointment.’ I worked with a guy who would repeatedly interrupt me to ask, “Did you get the appointment?” And he would walk away and tell me my communication was a failure if I didn’t get the appointment. Later, after working with that guy for a bit, and noticing he didn’t close any sales and it became clear to me his old-school approach wasn’t serving him very well. He wasn’t getting very many appointments. At all.

I want free parking if parking costs money at the brokerage. Parking can run $10-$15 per day and I don’t have that kind of cash to toss around right now. And I don’t want my clients paying for parking either. Parking does cost money at the new place but the brokerage does validate it. Check!

Most of all, I want a brokerage that is established and has a host of well-established agents. Why? Because they can afford to advertise. A LOT! And their advertisements help me because they promote the brokerage and solidify its reputation in the minds of potential clients. Here in a larger city, that is really, really important. Thank you Mr. Grippo for your bench-back advertisements!

I’ve chosen to work for Windermere, Cronin and Caplan Realty at their Lloyd Center location. You’ve no doubt seen Windermere’s blue and white signs around. I think they’re quite classy and their advertisements are beautiful.

My last experience working for a large brokerage wasn’t pleasant. In fact, it was a real disappointment. I loved my managing broker there and I know the policies she was promoting were the ones the corporate office was implementing. But the atmosphere was a little depressing. She tried very, very hard to get me to stay. Then I went to work for a smaller brokerage and loved it. Loved it, loved it, loved it! But I’ve moved back to the city now where things work a bit differently.

If all goes well, next week, and there is no guarantee it will, I’ll pass my test on Tuesday and be done by 1:00. Wednesday morning I’ll attend the office meeting and tour some houses that are fresh on the market and start calling my contacts to ask them if they know of anyone who may be interested in buying a house.

Let the adventure begin!

